An Amazing Dinner

Hey all! Do you ever have a hard time trying to figure out what to make for dinner? You know, something healthy, and one that your kids will like, and one that will take a short time to make?
Well I have that problem A LOT! I am always on the go  with my five kids and when it is dinner time I want something fairly easy and quick. And I want to make something that we can all eat, because I am not a short order cook!

Well, tonight I came up with an amazing dinner in just 45 minutes AND my kids loved it! And I have to say, I did too!

So here’s the details.
First I want you to preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Then cut up three large sweet potatoes. I like mine in cubes, and I left the skin right on (because I scrubbed them). After they are cut up spray them with a cooking spray, or you can toss them with one of your favorite oils.
Then in a gallon size bag I added these spices, 1 teaspoon of each one. Thyme, rosemary, paprika, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and brown sugar.  And then for a little kick I added some cayenne pepper. About 1/8 of a teaspoon, more if you like it spicy! So once you have all of those spices all mixed up in your bag, throw all of your oil covered potatoes in the bag. Shake em up, and then put them onto a cookie sheet. (I sprayed my cookie sheet first so they wouldn’t stick.)
Bake them for about 35 minutes, or until done.
While those were baking I made pan seared chicken breasts. Super easy. Take a little bit of your favorite oil (olive, coconut, or grapeseed) and put it in a pan that is set on medium high heat. Then, take some seasoned chicken breasts and set them in your hot pan.  Now I absolutely adore Famous Dave’s Chicken Wing seasoning, so that is what I use alot.  But you could use anything that you like and have laying around. If you are in a super hurry and you did plan a head, alot of grocery stores sell fresh pre-seasoned chicken breasts.

Next, I want you to brown each side for a minute or two.  As soon as both sides are brown add a about a cup of chicken broth to the pan. Cover and simmer! It will cook itself from this point on. But feel free to flip if you feel like it. Oh, you are going to want to turn your pan down a bit too, especially if the broth starts to boil. I turned mine between low and medium. And then you just cook it until they are done. About 15-20 minutes depending on the size of your chicken! When its all done I took my chicken out of the pan, and I let my broth thicken just a bit so I could pour it over my chicken!

Now while these are both cooking nicely you have time to steam some veggies!! VOILA!!!  A super yummy tasty dinner in just 45 minutes!

Now I just thought I would let you in on a little tasty treat that I added to this! I love LOVE to dip my fries in ranch! And I wasn’t so sure about the sweet potatoes, and I knew my kids would want a dip. So I took one of those Ranch Dip dry powder packets and added half of it to a container of Greek yogurt! It was YUM-O!! The perfect little low calorie low fat dip for our potatoes!

My kids loved it! My husband loved it! And I loved it! It was win-win for all of us. My kids got a great meal that they loved, and I didn’t have to feel bad one second for what we were eating!

I do hope you enjoy this meal as much as I did! Bon a petit!

Leave a comment

Filed under Angela's Story - 1 clients success

Leave a Reply

