Is Pizza Bad for You? (recipe included)

Who doesn’t love pizza?  I love pizza!  Always have, always will.

Hey Coach Laura here again.  I lost 60 pounds in 2009 and I know that 25 of those pounds were probably put on from pizza.  Does that mean I know longer eat pizza?  No way!  If you told me I could lose weight but wouldn’t get pizza anymore, I would tell you I’ll stay fat.  I have modified the types of pizza I eat though.  Let me tell you what I do and give you a pizza recipe that you could eat daily if you wanted.

So what do I eat now when I want pizza.  I have traded in pan or thick crusts and high meat content, for super thin crust and veggies or just chicken pizza.  Also if I before the pizza gets to my home (delivery) or before it is done cooking (Papa Murphy’s), I will make an only vegetable salad and eat it.  This gets me some extra fat burning vegetables, and fills up some room in my tummy so I don’t eat as much pizza.  This balance has worked well for me, but I only will do this 1-3 times a month; big change from my 1-3 times a week, I used to eat pizza.

But want an alternative you can have 1-3 times a week.  I have one that you could have daily.   Check out this awesome recipe that will curb your appitite for pizza while staying away from the blood sugar raising carbs of wheat flour (or any flour for that matter).

Low Carb, No Flour Pizza

Ingredients

3 cups grated raw zucchini
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

3/4 cup of fresh balled mozzarella cheese cut into slices
1  cup tomato sauce (you can spice or use pizza sauce if you like)
1 fresh pressed garlic clove, or 1/2 teaspoon of jarred chopped garlic
1/2 small onion, thinly sliced
1 1/2 cup of fresh spinach leaves
1 small green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1/4 cup sliced black olives
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 tablespoon olive oil

Instructions

I wish you could smell this! Mmmmm

Preheat oven to 400° F.Squeeze the excess moisture out of the grated zucchini  with paper towels. Mix the squash, eggs and 1/2 cup mozzarella, 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese, and 1 tsp of garlic powder a together and press into the bottom of a 13×9 cake pan. Bake for about 10 minutes. (see picture to the left)

Remove the pan from the oven and spread the tomato sauce and garlic on crust, then vegetables or other pizza toppings and the remaining cheeses over the crust. Sprinkle with oregano and basil and drizzle the olive oil over the top. Bake for 25 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned.  (picture below was taken before cheese browned)

So delicious! Great for breakfast

I hope you all try this recipe.  Keep in mind the crust is not going to be the same as a traditional pizza crust, but the flavor is all there.  Please let me know what you think about the pizza, and what recipes you need help finding an alternative (better for you) recipe for.

Coach Laura

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

