I have STOPPED dieting!

Everyone keeps asking me what I am doing to lose so much weight. I love hearing all of the “wow you look great” but when people ask me for my little secret to weight loss I am not exactly sure what to tell them. Because honestly, I am not dieting!
I am changing my life each day. I eat what I want to eat, when I want to eat it. But I guess here is the little secret, I make A LOT of good food choices. I have done a really good job at trying to figure out what is good for me.
8 weeks ago I hardly touched vegetables. I would eat maybe a serving every third or fourth dinner. I didn’t like them, and I chose not to serve them because I would have to be a good example. And the ones that I did serve consistently were canned green beans, corn, or peas. That is pretty much it.

NOW, I eat just about every veggie that seems normal. Okay, for those of you that know me, I HATE SALAD! I refuse to eat lettuce! It is soo gross! But these are the veggies I now eat on a regular basis: broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, green beans, peas, zucchini, mushrooms, onions, artichokes, tomatoes, peppers, and spinach. I am trying to get those veggies in at every meal. I have always had a great love for soups and I make sure that I throw all sorts of veggies in there.
You see, here’s the thing how this is different then every other time I tried to “diet”. I lived in deprivation mode. I felt like I couldn’t eat pizza, or ice cream, or a cheeseburger, or go out to eat with my husband which we do every other weekend. I thought I would have to just be super depressed and just eat bland and boring food.

But I DON’T and I AM NOT! For dinner tonight I had Turkey Chili with lots of beans and and tomatoes with a half of grilled cheese sandwich. Now I usually wouldn’t have the grilled cheese on any sort of regular basis, but it sounded sooo good and I had some gouda that I needed to use up! I love eating fish and chicken, and I have that all the time. When I go out to dinner with my husband I make sure that there is something baked on the menu that I can have. But I am not gonna lie to you.

I LOVE ICE CREAM! I used to eat at least three pints of ice cream in a week, easily. If I wasn’t eating it in front of the tv, I was getting a shake from DQ or somewhere else.  I used to weekly or twice a week take my kids for shakes as an after school snack (they were half off until 4 PM, and were a quick and yummy snack). In the last 8 weeks, I have had ice cream twice. Once, there was a fun ice cream for breakfast day and we HAD to go. And the other time was on Saturday. I had a little tiny cup of ice cream from one of my FAVORITE places, and could hardly finish my dish. Not because I felt guilty, but because I was so full from my soup lunch!

I HAVE NO GUILT ABOUT IT! I want you to know, that eating ice cream once in a while is okay! Eating a dessert every now and then is okay! Eating a serving of tater tots, french fries, or whatever “bad” thing you want to insert here OCCASIONALLY is OKAY! But, if you want to reach your goals of a healthier life style you cannot do these things every day. But depriving yourself will only make you feel bad or guilty “when you cheat” and I don’t want you to feel like a failure! BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT!

I want you to feel good about the choices that you make when you eat, as I do! I want you to be happy to know that there is nothing wrong with a little treat now and then, and that you wanting that treat is OKAY! I don’t want you to feel like you are missing out on life or special occasions because you are trying to diet. Because honestly, all dieting is, is changing our lives. And I want you to feel free to make good choices without any guilt or negative feelings, as I have learned to do.

I hope you understand what I am saying here.  If you feel like you need a bit more support with food Fit Wit Me offers nutritional coaching with the Transitions Lifestyle System.  If you would like help to change your life a little everyday come in and talk to one of the weight loss coaches.  I want you to feel GOUDA about you and your life! 🙂 Please, feel free to comment or email. Coach Laura and I are here to answer any of your questions! I am an open book and would be happy to cheer you on!

Leave a comment

Filed under Angela's Story - 1 clients success

Leave a Reply

