Roasted Broccoli

Minion here, posting yet again about one of my favorite things – food! All right now, take a deep breath and compose yourself, I know you’re excited… and you should be! This is a totally guilt-free side dish that you can eat an entire plateful of and NOT feel bad about! I eat this stuff at least three times a week, no joke. I can finally eat tons of broccoli without having to drown it in cheese sauce or smother it with dill dip. I know it sounds a little different but give it a try and see how great it is. The way it crunches lightly with each chew. The slight sweetness that roasting it brings out (who knew broccoli could behave so…dare I say…naughty?). The way you start popping them in your mouth one after another, after another, like popcorn. Get addicted. It’s a good addiction to have.

Roasted Broccoli

1 – 2 heads fresh broccoli, rinsed and cut apart

Butter spray (you could also use E.V.O.O or Grape seed oil)

Sea salt (just a pinch or two)

Mrs. Dash (or any other seasoning you want)

Pre-heat oven to 400F. Lay the broccoli florets on a baking sheet and spray them with the butter spray. If you’re using some type of oil, I like to put the broccoli in a gallon size bag, in addition to your oil and shake that baby! Lightly sprinkle each floret with your seasoning of choice and the sea salt. Bake for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes I like to take them out and flip each one over and stick them back in the oven for another 6 minutes or so, so they get crispy on both sides.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here they are prepped and ready to be roasted!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here are the beauties, all ready to be devoured. You can also see in the picture here I topped them with a little bit of cheese. I used shredded Asiago but feel free to use whatever you have handy. If you add cheese make sure you only add it for the last 5-10 minutes so it doesn’t burn. That’s it! Pretty easy, right? Now go get some broccoli and get addicted!

Before I sign off for the day I should clear something up that I mentioned earlier in the post. I’ll go ahead and address this before there are too many concerns. No, I have not turned into a tiny little creature working for a despicable person. Still confused? Let me see…oh, here we go! This oughta help!

min·ion/ˈminyən/

Noun: A follower or underling of a powerful person (that would be my boss, Laura), esp. a servile or unimportant one. (this definition does not really pertain to me, I like to think I’m somewhat important. Let me find a better description…Oh, here we go…!) A minion is a follower devoted to serve his/her master relentlessly (now that’s more like it!).

Synonyms: favorite – favourite – pet – darling

Or maybe you will recognize this minion:

yeah, that’s me working on the blog 🙂

Minion has become an endearing term for myself (Kristin) assigned by Laura and Angela. They say paint, I say “What color?”. They say organize that, I say “My pleasure!” (seriously, it is). They say shop for this, I say “Give me the cash and I’m outta here!”. So if you’re around the gym and hear words like minion and minionize (minion-ize: verb. example: that wall that needs to be painted will be minionized, as in, we’ll have Kristin do it), they’re talking about me 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Vegetables and Vegetarian Dishes

One response to “Roasted Broccoli

  1. Marie Johnson

    Sounds really good, Kristin! I have always been a broccoli lover so thank you this is just another way to make it and love it even more!

Leave a Reply

