You matter. You are worthy.

Is this the first time you have “tried” or succeeded at losing weight?  Are you ready to really lose it this time?  Is there anything that could get in your way to stop you? If you don’t do this now, what will you be giving up?
I have seen so many people try but not stick with it long enough to succeed or a challenge comes up, gets in their way and they say, “Oh well, timing is off.  I will “try” again later.” only to have months or years go by with little to no progress.  I myself struggled with my weight for years. I kept putting off success for so many years.  Though this is “what made me who I am today”, I will absolutely say that I regret not having lost weight earlier.  Not because of an ideal body image, or fitting into a specific size pair of pants, but because I now feel great physically, my body does what I tell it to, I can lead the active lifestyle that I want to.  I will tell you I wish I had this physical ability and mental determination earlier in life.
So what are you waiting for?  What if tomorrow you found out you had a year to live?  Would you be satisfied in how you have lived your life?  Would you be pleased at the choices you have made?

STOP, STOP, STOP

Don’t start down the road of a guilt trip.  That is not what these questions are for.  The past is the past, and there is nothing you can do about it.  I am asking you these questions for you to look forward, move forward.  Will you keep making these same choices?  or will you make the changes necessary?

Let me tell you about 2 instances that I personally had that I just wish I could pass on to all of you:  When I was losing weight I had lost about 20 pounds (out of 60 total), and it was the beginning of summer.  I took my boys to an outdoor water park with a friend.  She had teenage boys we followed around, and I had a 4 year old and an 8 month old.  We played, we splashed, I took my son down the water slides, and we had a great time.  I had played most of the day, when I realized I hadn’t thought about my body once that day.  I had only dropped 1 or 2 sizes (starting at a tight 18), so it wasn’t that I had achieved my goal yet, but I was in the mindset that it was inevitable. I appreciated the changes that had already been made in my body and was satisfied.  Can you imagine being so satisfied in your body that you could put on a swim suit, go to the beach, go to the pool, go to the water park with friends and never think at all about your body;

no embarrassment, no shame, no feelings at all?

What would that feel like?

The second instance happened while I was at the park with my 4 year old and 6 month old in a stroller.  My 4 year old decided he wanted to go to a different part of the park and took off running across 2 soccer fields.  Over the bumpy field my stroller rumbled as I chased my 4 year old.  About 1/2 way across the field I realized, I WAS RUNNING ACROSS THE FIELD.  I had never run before (before I started working out) and I never would have been able to do that.  It was freeing!  It was amazing!  My body just did what it was told, without hesitation.  I didn’t even think about it!

Those moments just fueled more of what I had already decided.  I had decided that I was going to get my body back and throw away all the excuses.  I was NOT going to wait one more day.  That didn’t mean that all things were perfect, but mistakes were just learning experiences.

So what are your big dreams, big goals?  Can you imagine them?

Now write down a list of qualities that you may need to improve within yourself to achieve those goals.  Wondering what I mean by qualities?  When I made my list, qualities like commitment to the goal, trust in self and others, and self honor kept showing up for all my big goals and life dreams.  What qualities show up on your list?

Now be realistic and decide how can you develop these qualities in yourself.  What process can you use?  Are there people that can help?  How?  Seriously make a list!

And NOW before the end of the day, take one action step. 

Do one thing on your list.  Haven’t you waited and postponed your goals long enough?

This is your moment to tell yourself you matter, you are worthy of getting exactly what you want and more!

Take action or doubt will settle in and more weeks, months, and years will go by.

YOU DESERVE TO BE TREATED BETTER!

YOU ARE AMAZING AND DESERVE TO KNOW THAT!

Through the course of my weight loss journey a lot of things changed for me.  I never thought of being a personal trainer, I never imagined me being a coach to others, and I didn’t see myself as getting up and revealing the dirty little secret truths of my story.  When I look back at the person I once was, I don’t recognize her.
With that in mind let me say as you follow through on your goals and take more steps on your list, that I look forward to meeting the person that you will become.  You don’t have to know who that is yet, just be open to letting yourself evolve as you change.  And when you get that little, crazy idea in the back of your mind, take action!  Quickly!  You don’t have time to waste on your road to being even more amazing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baraboo's Biggest Loser, Biggest Loser Challenge

Leave a Reply

