Pork Chops with Spinach and Feta

spinach and feta pork chops

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember the last recipe I posted that called for pomegranates? Do you also remember how I said I was originally saving that pomegranate to use with pork but since I don’t often eat meat, I figured I’d better use it up in something else I’d be more likely to eat? Well…

guess who suddenly had a hankerin’ for pork this week?! Yeah, this girl right here. This girl that used to say firmly, “I will NEVER give up meat. I will NEVER live off of mostly fish, fruit and vegetables!” Well, I didn’t give them up but I did cut back on them significantly. So much so that when I do eat meat, I have to be conscious of how much of it I eat (portion control) or my body will let me know later that it wasn’t happy with my choice (per lots of swollen limbs and a rolling tummy). Knowing all of this about my body, but still wanting to satisfy my pork craving (everything in moderation, remember), I decided to make this delicious-sounding stuffed pork. To help my body, I served mine with steamed garlic green beans and roasted carrots (beans and sweet potatoes for the rest), and I also cut my serving of pork in half so I didn’t feel “obligated” to eat the whole stuffed chop when I knew my body wouldn’t appreciate it. I also drank 2 tall glasses of ice water with my meal instead of milk, tea, soda or wine. Clearly (haha, get it? water…clear. oh, sorry. here, have a glass of dry wine to go with my sense of humor!), water is the better choice.

I love spinach and feta, but if you don’t, feel free to swap out a different kind of cheese (mozzarella, romano, muenster, etc.) or greens (swiss chard, kale, etc.).

Ingredients

cooking spray1 Tbsp. minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
5 sun-dried tomatoes, packed without oil, diced
1 (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained, and squeezed dry
1/4 cup (1 ounce) crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese
3 tablespoons (1 1/2 ounces) block-style fat-free cream cheese
1/2 teaspoon grated lemon rind
4 (4-ounce) boneless center-cut loin pork chops, trimmed
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

Directions

  1. Preheat broiler.
  2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat with cooking spray. Add half the garlic; cook about 1 minute. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, tomatoes, and spinach; cook until moisture evaporates. Remove from heat; stir in cheeses and rind.
  3. Cut a horizontal slit through each pork chop to form a pocket. Stuff about 1/4 cup spinach mixture into each pocket. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper over pork. Arrange pork on the rack of a broiler or roasting pan coated with cooking spray; place rack in pan. Combine remaining garlic, juice, mustard, and oregano in a bowl; stir well. Brush half of mustard mixture over pork. Broil 6 minutes; turn pork. Brush remaining mixture over pork; broil 2 minutes or until done.
Amount per serving (serves 4, not including sides)
Calories: 232
Calories from fat: 33%
Fat: 8.6g
Saturated fat: 3.4g
Protein: 32.1g
Carbohydrate: 7.2g
Fiber: 2.8g
Cholesterol: 73mg
Sodium: 640mg
Leave a comment

Filed under Red Meat

Leave a Reply

